Edgbaston

in the county of West Midlands

A picture of Swarkestone

Swarkestone

in the county of Derbyshire

Gates leading to Meaburn Hall, Maulds Meaburn, Cumbria

Maulds Meaburn

in the county of Cumbria

A picture of RyeBath AbbeyA picture of Bath AbbeyBag End?A picture of Barton Le ClayA picture of Barton Le Clay

Changes in England from the point of view of a humble accountant!

**Please support PoE by donating today - thank you**

Stephanie Jackson
Stephanie Jackson
quotePosted at 09:00 on 28th March 2009

Ron asked me to start a thread from the point of view of the accountant so here goes - my first serious thread!

I am a partner in a small accountancy practice in the West Midlands. I have been working in accountancy for 26 years and we started our business in 1992. There have been so many changes in that time - when I first started we used to write the final accounts in big musty books called Private Ledgers, write letters to the Revenue saying "Dear Gentlemen" and attend hearings in magistrates courts to extend time to complete accounts. Now we do most of our work by computer and internet file accounts and tax returns. There is no negotiation to extend filing times - 1 minute late and you are slapped with a penalty!

The strange thing is you would expect computers to have made it easier for us - we were promised savings in time but all that has happened is that the powers that be have made things more complicated! Self Assessment (introduced late 90's) was a good idea in concept but it has meant that many small sole traders think that it is fine to submit any figures they like and if they are not questioned they think that it is acceptable. If I had a pound for every time one of my clients has said "my mate down the pub/building site said that he has got a refund and you are making me pay tax/making me have a small refund!" I would be rich!!!