Pictures of England

Search:

Historic Towns & Picturesque Villages

St, Gregory's Church. Kirknewton, Northumberland.

Kirknewton

in the county of Northumberland

A picture of RyeBath AbbeyA picture of Bath AbbeyBag End?A picture of Barton Le ClayA picture of Barton Le Clay

Please I really need your opinion...!

**Please support PoE by donating today - thank you**

Alexis 89
Alexis 89
quotePosted at 19:52 on 30th March 2009

Hi there! I'm a Bulgarian student and I have to finish an English Certificate with the topic- Iconic British figures and I need to make a sort of survey, in order to finish the certificate Laughing I really need your opinion on the top british historical, artistic etc figures. From writers to politicians or whatever British personality you admire the most.So please..just a couple of lines, any suggestion is welcomed. Thanks a lot...

My favourite: Pictures  |  Towns  |  Attractions
Stephanie Jackson
Stephanie Jackson
quotePosted at 20:51 on 30th March 2009

Wecome Alexis - good luck with your certificate!

I admire Winston Churchill - our British Prime Minister during most of the war years. He was a great leader.

I might be shot for it (just joking) as many people hate her but Margaret Thatcher was also a great leader - I don't think any of us realised at the time - and she was also the first woman Prime Minister (came into power in 1979).

Edward Elgar - great composer - he was born not that far from where I live.

Ron Brind
Ron Brind
quotePosted at 21:17 on 30th March 2009

Thats a great start Stephanie, and I wouldn't see you shot for naming Margaret Thatcher. Pity she's not able to take over from the idiot we have currently!

Alexis the Pictures Of England.com website is full of good information so why not take a look at the following page, it will keep you busy for ages!  

http://www.picturesofengland.com/famous
Kevin Tebbutt
Kevin Tebbutt
quotePosted at 22:52 on 30th March 2009