Search:

Historic Towns & Picturesque Villages

Albert Bridge - Spanning The Thames Between Chelsea and Battersea

Chelsea

in the county of Greater London

Chilham

Chilham

a Picturesque Village in the county of Kent

A picture of RyeBath AbbeyA picture of Bath AbbeyBag End?A picture of Barton Le ClayA picture of Barton Le Clay

Devonshire Oilstone?

**Please support PoE by donating today - thank you**

Alex Smith
Alex Smith
quotePosted at 21:31 on 29th July 2009

Hello,

I am an amateur metallurgist, and have a collection of many natural sharpening stones. In doing research on the subject I have become aware of a number of different types of hone stones that were quarried in the UK. One such stone is referred to as the Devonshire Oilstone, but I have been unable to find any further information on it. I know that the stone was quarried in the Tavistock area, was reputed to be of excellent quality, but was never widely distributed.

I would like to ask if anyone here knows anything about this particular stone, or the area where it was mined. I don't even know what the stone looked like, so if anyone could provide any additional information it would be most appreciated.

Similiarly, I would be interested in learning about any other hones/ whetstones that were quarried in the United Kingdom. If anyone could provide me with any information concerning the history of any regions that produced sharpening stones, or point me in the right direction where I could continue my own research, it would again, be much appreciated.

Kindest regards,

Alex

My favourite: Pictures  |  Towns  |  Attractions
Ray Stear
Ray Stear
quotePosted at 22:03 on 29th July 2009

Hi Alex

Welcome to the website, I'll give your topic some thought and get back to you.

Ray.

Ron Brind
Ron Brind
quotePosted at 08:48 on 30th July 2009