Search:

Historic Towns & Picturesque Villages

The Cathedral, Derby

Derby

in the county of Derbyshire

Tutbury, Staffordshire: Tutbury Church

Tutbury

in the county of Staffordshire

A picture of RyeBath AbbeyA picture of Bath AbbeyBag End?A picture of Barton Le ClayA picture of Barton Le Clay

an american in england

**Please support PoE by donating today - thank you**
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next >

Sparrow Demitriesse
Sparrow Demitriesse
quotePosted at 19:15 on 23rd June 2011

Hello!

My name is Laura.  I am 33, and former New Yorker now living in Los Angeles.  I am a musician and an aspiring writer. For money, I work in Television Production.  I am a serious Anglophile and I am planning a trip to the UK in August or September.  I have been to London and Canterbury and was completely charmed by the whole place and (Quel Suprise!) enjoyed it more than Paris or the South of France. Anyway, I have been dreaming of England ever since my last trip 4 years ago.  I would love to move there if only I didn't have to be an EU citizen to work there.  Anyway, I am planning a trip, I will spend a week in Scotland, a few days in the Cotwolds, a few days in London, and a few days in Bournemouth (where I have a friend) and anywhere else that sounds enticing. I plan to rent a car and would love to learn about beautiful and interesting places to go. Castles, literary and musical landmarks, places to enjoy music, and magical places are on the agenda.  I also intend to bring my guitar so please advise if there are open mics or bars where a person can play. Thanks so much in advance for any helpful hints!

All the Best, 

Laura Sparrow

My favourite: Pictures  |  Towns  |  Attractions
Ron Brind
Ron Brind
quotePosted at 19:22 on 23rd June 2011
Hi Laura and welcome to POE from Anna and Ron. Sounds like you are going to have a great time, and most certainly be the envy of other anglophiles here in the forum, of which there are many.

quote | editPosted at 19:35 on 23rd June 2011