Pictures of England

Search:

Historic Towns & Picturesque Villages

A pub in Tintagel

Tintagel

in the county of Cornwall

A picture of RyeBath AbbeyA picture of Bath AbbeyBag End?A picture of Barton Le ClayA picture of Barton Le Clay

Family of 7 visiting England for 14+ months, location suggestions?

**Please support PoE by donating today - thank you**

Joel Mcdonald
Joel Mcdonald
quotePosted at 04:21 on 29th January 2011

My wife Sharon (Canadian) and I (American) are planning an extended stay (14 months) in England with our 5 Children. Her three, girls (ages 15, 13, 9) and my two, a boy (13) and a girl (14). We're planning on the kids most likely attending local schools as appropriate and as possible. This trip is primarily for them. Sharon is a school teacher, but won't be working. I'm a journalist/photographer and will only be doing freelance for Stateside outlets.

We'd like suggestions on locations, regions and/or counties to live in that:

- would be historic, educational, and rich in (true english) culture (without a McDonald's Burger Joint PLEASE!).

- has reasonably priced 4 bedroom homes and such to rent (let) in an area that is relatively close to other equally culturally rich areas.

- isn't too far off the beaten path allowing for easy (public) transportation (bus & rail) to London or another major metro areas.

- isn't economically distressed, but isn't terribly expensive to live in. 

We're looking at August for our move.

Thanks for any suggestions. Joel

My favourite: Pictures  |  Towns  |  Attractions
cathyml
cathyml
quotePosted at 06:40 on 29th January 2011
Hi Joel, Sharon & family, a very warm welcome to the POE site.  What an adventure and education for your children!  You have picked the best site on the net to get great information from the members. 
Joel Mcdonald
Joel Mcdonald
quotePosted at 06:52 on 29th January 2011
Thanks Cathy. Hoping so. Found you all quite by accident. Just googled and there you were!